A rapist and murderer in California claims lethal injection is “cruel & unusual”

“Lawyers for Michael Morales, who raped and bludgeoned a 17-year-old girl to death in 1981, say the three-chemical lethal injection causes undue pain prior to death.”

-on-line Yahoo article April 2006

* * * * * * *

Would you suffer less “undue pain”, Mr. Morales, if the State Of California took lethal injection off the table and replaced it with raping and bludgeoning?

One response to “A rapist and murderer in California claims lethal injection is “cruel & unusual”

  1. Jonathan Tardif

    I might as well get this out of the way: I’m not pro-capital punishment. To make things confusing, I’m not entirely against it (figure that one out!). I just think it should be used in extreme cases (don’t ask me how I would define “extreme cases”, it’s one of those case-by-case…cases).

    Anyway, I’ve always thought that putting people to death isn’t much of a punishment. I mean, think about it, what would be worse: death or spending the rest of your life in a concrete and steel box (20, 30, 40, 50+ years)? Of course, I find it ironic that a “liberal” state like California would even have the death penalty.

    It is quite ridiculous when one is too worried about the comfort level of someone who is in the process of dying.

Leave a Reply

