Chincoteague, VA gets its name from the old Indian word meaning “6 dollar pony rides”

After spending nearly a week without Internet access or checking my e-mails, I was completely uninformed about the world around me. I think I got a glimpse of what it’s like to be Ann Coulter for once.

Chincoteague is a beautiful place to vacation. While I was growing up, that was the vacation of choice for decades. Now that I have my own family, we have made it ours. Normally, we visit every two years with last year being that year. However, a friend of the family gave us a chance to stay in their house on the island. It was very nice. My wife and kids got a nice change to play on the beach, and I got a chance to work on my sunburn. We watched the movie CARS while visiting (which is very good, btw) and eat some saltwater taffy and some seafood.

It is an excellent place, and I would recommend it. Assateague Island should also be one of your stops. You will be able to see wild horses, lush vegetation, miles and miles of bikinis, and beach umbrellas bend under the strain of strong winds.

2 responses to “Chincoteague, VA gets its name from the old Indian word meaning “6 dollar pony rides”

  1. Glad you like Chincoteague, I love it too. Thanks for writing. Why did you say it means $6 pony rides.? In Indian, as I was told, it means “Beautiful Island Across the Water”. I’m afraid that pretty soon like most wonderful places it will be to developed.

  2. I live there and it’s one of the most beautiful places…very quaint. I think it is beautiful island across the water but I’d have to recheck on that.

Leave a Reply

