A brief comment on Sept. 11, 2001

I remember exactly where I was….at work. We have a television in the conference room that was put into use when the radio station reported that a plane hit the World Trade Center. The rest of the morning, most of the office stood and watched the buildings burn and collapse. Suddenly, our world felt very small and all of us felt very vulnerable.

My sister-in-laws, both living and working in NYC at the time, were in the area. With the phone lines being jammed with callers, it took time to reach them. Somehow, my wife was able to reach them, and was able to coordinate where they would later meet, and arrange for trips home. It was a very long, scary day.

All I wanted to do when I got home was to spend time with my family. My son (about 2 years old at the time) wanted to play blocks. We spent time building a tower, then when he knocked it down (as 2 year old usually do); I shuddered. Needless to day, we ended up playing something else.

When I think of where were are now, compared to then, I really don’t think that we have learned. I don’t think we, as Americans, will ever feel as safe as we did before 9/11.

Leave a Reply

