Parker Dam State Park Cabin Camping Weekend was a success!!

The weather was fantastic! There was no rain (unlike last year, which zapped 1 1/2 days) and the skies were clear. We did some serious hiking. Pictured above is the “scenic vista” promised for those who traverse the extra hike on the TRAIL OF THE NEW GIANTS path. At nearly 2000 feet above sea level, my whole family was able to enjoy the view here – Parker Lake – which later that day, we made it all the way over to the other side of the lake pictured.

I was away from any technology, including e-mail and my blog. I actually missed that more than television, not that I watch a lot of tv. I was so busy doing camping stuff that I didn’t even have a stray “Hey, I can’t wait to blog about….” thought at all.

I would also like to give a special shout-out to Dick Small. He did e-mail his personal favorite camping places. However, I am not entirely convinced that going to luxury hotels like the Hilton, is really considered camping…..Would “roughing it” be having a tv without a remote? Do you pay someone to put dirt, dead leaves, and pine sap in your clothes? Does eating granola from a room service cart count as ‘foraging for food’? I have never really thought of camping that way.

-sj

One response to “Parker Dam State Park Cabin Camping Weekend was a success!!

  1. Looks beautiful! I prefer to have some sort of restrooms, but I don’t think staying at the Hilton is camping.

Leave a Reply

