Seeking the opinion of women about dolls

My three year old daughter received several Barbie Dolls for Christmas. She even requested a “Mermaid Man” (shown above), although Barbie does spend quite a bit of quality time with G.I. Joe. As you can see from the picture above, it seems that ALL doll of hers seem to be prone to nudity. For the record, we are an emotionally healthy household and DO have boundaries. No one walks around our house in their underwear…not even Daddy (me).

My question is this:

What’s the deal with the nudity thing? When you were little, did your doll play match this?

Seeing a couple of naked dolls in a car strikes me as dangerously prophetic. Does my daughter have THAT accurate view of dating? Should I only start worrying when it’s Mermaid Man one day, and G.I. Joe the next?

8 responses to “Seeking the opinion of women about dolls

  1. I am not a professional, but I think that children are naturally curious about the human body, especially the differences between the sexes. I think that you might be able to contrive questions to ask in play that might reveal your daughter’s thoughts.

    Personally, I do not like the unrealistic body image that Barbie dolls project onto our children. I have a little boy, so thankfully, I do not have to make that decision with him. The dolls that he likes are the stuffed ones

  2. Nah, I wouldn’t worry about it. Maybe she doesn’t like her doll’s current wardrobe – so it’s time for daddy to pony up for some new threads.

    Now, if you have a son and he’s playing with two naked Ken dolls and putting them in a convertible to, er, cruise — so to speak — well, HELL YES! You better ask that boy what’s UP!

  3. Not that there’s anything wrong with being gay.

  4. Oh that is so funny! I do admit that I loved Barbie dolls when I was a tot, and I engaged in having them kiss each other constantly, for hours on end…I even made the appropriate sound effects, ‘mmm mmm smack!” I don’t recall them being naked though…but not to worry…I’m sure it’s normal.
    Awww…kids these days.

  5. Nah….
    When my daughter received her first Barbie frommy parents(I called it Prostitiute Barbie… I was horrified I looked at the Brbie and could not believe the’look’…
    Anyway, may daughter squealed with delight ran upstairs and brought down all her stuffed animals…
    Barbie, breast fed all of them… Even the elephant… Now what does that say??? Wait! Don’t answer that!!!

  6. keep her away from outdoor movie fests. i used to strip my dolls naked too, i even shampooed their hair and realised that wasn’t too clever.

  7. Mr. Blather:

    I have only empirical evidence to support my claims, only the experience of both participating in this practice and watching my daughter do the same. The practice represents NO foreshadowing to the child’s future dating (everyone knows that it’s too cold to take all your clothes off while fooling around in a car). Also, daters resorting to FAIAC aren’t generally all-good about their bodies enough to get naked.
    Dolls are simply easier and more pleasing to play with for a certain age group when they aren’t complicated by those little outfits. Think of it as the Tabula Rasa–the blank slate of play. When she’s naked, Barbie could be anyone, not only sassy teen on the go, but evil tarantula woman seeking revenge, or a baby kangaroo blindly sniffing its path toward the pouch. Take heart.

  8. As my parents were sure to raise me in a very conventional Christian home, I made sure all my Barbies were married before they got naked in front of Ken. My best friend and I designed elaborate wedding ceremonies complete with bridesmaids and groomsmen before we played “honeymoon.”

    As intelligent 6 and 7 year olds, we had already figured out what sex was, but we were told that it was only for married couples. I didn’t want my Barbies to miss out, so they got hitched. šŸ˜‰

    For foreshadowing, I think I’m the only girl I know who was a virgin on her wedding night – I got married at 18 because I didn’t want to miss out either!

Leave a Reply

