I’m in a George Bush State Of Mind

  I’m sorry. I saw this picture and was inspired to write my own lyrics. This song practically wrote itself. 

(sung to the tune of Billy Joel’s New York State Of Mind)

Some folks like to get away
Take a holiday away from some common sense
Sheehanistas shouting slogans
o’er my barbed wire fence
But I’m taking Air Force One
to the Crawford, Texas sign
I’m in a George Bush state of mind

We’re treated like movie stars
In our fancy cars and our limousines
Been high on soft money, spending it like fiends
But I don’t care what you’re needin’
And I just want to waste more time
I’m in a George Bush state of mind

It is so easy living day to day
Out of touch with the rank and file
But now I need a little CYA
a good sound bite with a stupid smile

It comes down to reality
And I’m not real sure how things got this sour
Don’t care if Iran’s now got ‘nucular’ power
I don’t need any reasons
Y’all can just kiss my behind
I’m in a George Bush state of mind

It is so easy living day to day
Out of touch with voters like you
But now I want a little give and take
just what I’ll give, I’ve got no clue

It comes down to reality
And my critics say I let too much slide
Don’t care about Darfur, it’s not genocide
I don’t need any reasons
I’ll leave you all in a bind
I’m in a George Bush state of mind

I’m just taking a Greyhound to the Crawford, Texas Line
‘Cause I’m in a George Bush state of mind

(Sorry, Mr. Joel)

3 responses to “I’m in a George Bush State Of Mind

  1. This is such a good post! I love your song!

  2. Nice one, stjarna67. Maybe it’d be funnier if it didn’t ring so true.

  3. Hilarious! And weird. I was looking for pics of George Bush last night and almost put this one up! Weird Weird weird. Thanks for the laugh!

Leave a Reply

