What Kind Of American Are You?

  I have recently discovered heavygames.com for on-line games. All sorts of stuff, really. One game caught my eye so I tried it out.  While stinking at video games doesn’t typically bother me, I found myself bothered by the implication of losing the game : WAR ON IRAQ.

     Here is a pic of three screen shots. The opener, the main screen, and the panel I saw after playing.

   I did my share of shooting at the characters who fired at me, or launched grenades. Civilians were running around, making it difficult to hit the ‘terrorists’ but I avoided shooting them. The game ends and I am questioned about how much of American I am by not shooting enough civilians.

    I am very American for not shooting civilians, even in a video game. I am very American for allowing the game designer for the freedom of creating and posting such a game. I am very American for encouraging a debate about this.

    I think all you need to be is human to be bothered by it.

Leave a Reply

